In the second half of Monday night’s national championship showdown, Florida’s bench was hit with a technical foul that dramatically shifted momentum and led to a crucial four-point gain for Houston.
With 17:21 left in the second half, Florida’s coaches rushed onto the court from their seated area following a defensive foul on Gators guard Will Richard that occurred away from the ball. NCAA rules stipulate that during live play, only one coach is permitted within the coaching box, while all assistants must remain seated.
The rulebook does make allowances for spontaneous reactions to “outstanding” plays, but the swift decision to punish Florida’s bench suggests they may have already been cautioned. As Ian Eagle pointed out on the CBS broadcast, there seemed to be underlying tension between Florida’s bench and the officiating team, with Florida’s coaches vocally expressing their displeasure with a prior call.
After the technical was called, Houston’s guard LJ Cryer was given two free throw opportunities, of which he made one. With Houston keeping possession, Cryer soon sank a 3-pointer, extending their lead to 40-30 and effectively crafting a pivotal four-point play.